Rynearson National Adviser of Year Award

Edward Rynearson The Edward Rynearson Adviser of the Year Award was established to recognize outstanding National Honor Society advisers for their leadership and commitment to the purposes of NJHS.

Each award year, one NJHS adviser is selected among the submissions to be recognized as the NJHS National Adviser of the Year. Recipients receive a:

  • Complimentary registration to a LEAD Conference of their choice
  • Feature in an issue of Advise
  • Plaque recognizing their leadership
  • Check for $500

History and Background >>

In 1921, Edward Rynearson successfully spearheaded the drive among members of the newly-created National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) to establish the National Honor Society (NHS). The school where he served as principal, the Fifth Avenue School in Pittsburgh, PA, became the “alpha” chapter of NHS—the first chapter to be established. Through his efforts, news of the organization and its successes spread throughout the new principals’ association and across the nation. Each year we honor the memory of Edward Rynearson and the important work he began by presenting the Edward Rynearson Award recognizing one national adviser of the year for NHS and one for NJHS.

Criteria >>

Any National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) adviser with at least three years of experience can be nominated. Candidates who have demonstrated a professional commitment to their chapter and the purposes of the Honor Societies as evidenced by successful chapter functions at the local level are ideal nominees for this national recognition. Principals from schools with active NJHS chapters may nominate their chapter adviser. All nominees must come from a school that maintains an active NJHS chapter, duly chartered and affiliated with the national office.

Congratulations to this year’s winner, Ross Ann Hill from Idalou Middle School in Idalou, TX. In her 20-plus year career as an educator, she has been recognized for her commitment to students and academic excellence, most recently in 2020 as the Distinguished Educator of Lubbock County, TX.

To read more about Hill, click here

The nomination process will reopen in December 2021.